The local enforcing agency enforces the Uniform Fire Safety Act and the codes and regulations adopted under it in all buildings, sructures and premises within the established boundaries of the municipality, other than owner-occupied, one- and two- family dwellings, shall faithfully comply with the requirements of the Uniform Fire Safety Act and the Uniform Fire Code.
Washington Township Prevention Bureau provides smoke detector and fire safety inspections to Independence, Mansfield Township and Washington Borough through shared service agreements.
Selling a house or changing rental tenants?
Please schedule a smoke/carbon monoxide/fire extinguisher compliance test inspection with the Washington Township Fire Prevention Office.
Please schedule two to three weeks prior to closing. Inspection certificates are valid for six months, so please plan ahead.
No forms are required to be submitted.
N.J.S.A. 52:27D-437.16 et al requires inspections for “every single-family, two-family, and multiple rental dwelling located within the municipality at tenant turnover for lead-based paint hazards or within two years of the effective date of P.L.2021, c.182 (C.52:27D-437.16 et al.), whichever is earlier. Thereafter, all such units shall be inspected for lead-based paint hazards the earlier of every three years or upon tenant turnover, except that an inspection upon tenant turnover shall not be required if the owner has a valid lead-safe certification pursuant to this section."
Such inspections can be performed at the same time as carbon monoxide/smoke detector/fire extinguisher inspections.
The Lead Paint Assessment fees (including a $20 state fee per unit assessed to be deposited into the state Lead Hazard Control Assistance Fund) are as follows:
(1) Requests for a lead paint assessment received more than 10 business days prior to the change of occupant: $40;
(2) Requests for a lead paint assessment received four to 10 business days prior to the change of occupant: $70;
(3) Requests for a lead paint assessment received fewer than four business days prior to the change of occupant: $125.