## RESOLUTION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF WASHINGTON

Morris County, New Jersey

**No.** R-52-12 **Date of Adoption:** April 16, 2012

**Title or Subject:** RESOLUTION SUPPORTING A-2717 EXTENDING THE TIME PERIOD

FOR MUNICIPALITIES TO COMMIT TO EXPEND COLLECTED DEVELOPMENT FEES AND PAYMENTS-IN-LIEU OF CONSTRUCTING

AFFORDABLE UNITS

**WHEREAS**, P.L. 2008, c. 46 established a four year timetable for municipal housing trust dollars to be "committed for expenditure, or risk forfeiture to the State"; and

**WHEREAS,** the 2008 Act did not define the term "committed for expenditure" and deferred to the Council on Affordable Housing (COAH) to promulgate regulations as to the requirements to be met for "committed" as well as a timetable for expenditures; and

**WHEREAS,** neither COAH nor the Department of Community Affairs has adopted, nor proposed, the regulations pursuant to P.L. 2008, c. 46; and

**WHEREAS,** hundreds of municipalities submitted spending plans to COAH, of which only a fraction of these plans were reviewed by the agency, and most of these municipalities have not been provided any guidance on their spending plans; and

**WHEREAS,** at the time of 2008 Act, COAH was prepared to adopt its "3<sup>rd</sup> round regulations" establishing municipal obligations under the "Fair Housing Act"; and

**WHEREAS,** COAH's 3<sup>rd</sup> round regulations were highly controversial and fundamentally flawed, and subsequently set aside by the Appellate Division, and the appeal of that decision now awaits consideration by the State Supreme Court; and

WHEREAS, eight years of litigation over COAH's methodology has had a chilling effect not only on the development of affordable housing, but on the ability of local governments to commit trust fund dollars without knowledge of their respective obligations, and certainty that such commitment would count towards its housing obligation; and

**WHEREAS,** forfeiture of trust fund dollars starting in July 2012 would be fundamentally unfair, inequitable and indefensible since neither COAH nor DCA has provided the required guidance or certainty; and

**WHEREAS**, these trust fund dollars should be used as intended: to subsidize the costs for municipalities in meeting their affordable housing obligations while assuring that these costs do not fall to local taxpayers; and

**WHEREAS,** forfeiture of these dollars, estimated by some to be as much as \$200 million, would displace this financial obligation to the taxpayers in these communities.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Township Committee of the Township of Washington urges our State Legislators to support and approve A-2717, which will provide a four-year extension for municipalities to commit the municipal housing trust fund dollars; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the sponsor of A-2717, Assemblyman Anthony Bucco, Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll, members of the Assembly Housing and Local Government Committee, the New Jersey State League of Municipalities and the Office of the Governor.

ATTEST:	TOWNSHIP COMMITTEE OF THE TOWNSHIP OF WASHINGTON
Deborah A. Burd, Acting Township Clerk	Kenneth W. Short, Mayor
, 6	certify that the foregoing resolution was adopted
Deborah A. Burd, Township Clerk	

## **DISTRIBUTION LIST FOR RESOLTIONS SUPPORTING A-2717**

- 1. The Hon. Anthony M. Bucco, Assemblyman, District 25 1040 Route 10 West, Suite 140 Randolph, NJ 07869 AsmBucco@njleg.org
- 2. The Hon. Jerry Green Chair, Assembly Housing and Local Government Committee Assemblyman, District 22 17 Watchung Ave Plainfield, NJ 07060 AsmGreen@njleg.org
- 3. The Hon. Mila Jasey, Vice Chair, Assembly Housing and Local Government Committee Assemblywoman, District 27 511 Valley St. Maplewood, NJ 07040 AswJasey@njleg.org
- The Hon. Michael Patrick Carroll, Assemblyman, District 25 146 Speedwell Ave. Morris Plains, NJ 07950 AsmCarroll@njleg.org
- 5. The Hon. Robert Clifton Assemblyman, District 12 516 Route 33 West, Bldg. 2, Suite 2 Old Bridge, NJ 08857 AsmClifton@njleg.org
- 6. The Hon. Angelica M. Jimenez Assemblywoman, District 32 5600 Kennedy Blvd., Suite 104 West New York, NJ 07093 AswJimenez@njleg.org
- 7. The Hon. Annette Quijano Assemblywoman, District 20 985 Stuyvesant Ave Union, NJ 07083 AswQuijano@njleg.org
- 8. NJ League of Municipalities 222 West State Street Trenton, NJ 08648 Admin@njlsom.com
- 9. The Hon. Chris Christie Governor, State of New Jersey Office of the Governor PO Box 001 Trenton, NJ 08625