Washington Township Planning Board JANUARY 7, 2013

The January 7, 2013 Reorganization Meeting of the Washington Township Planning Board was called to order by Clerk Margolese at 7:30 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

CLASS IV: William Leavens, Kathleen McGroarty, Eric Trevena,

Lou Mont

ALTERNATES: Howard Popper CLASS I: Ken Short

CLASS II: - CLASS III: -

ABSENT: Mark Bauerlein, James LiaBraaten

OTHERS PRESENT: Engineer Hall, Attorney Buzak, Clerk Margolese

Adequate notice of this meeting was sent to the Observer-Tribune on January 19, 2012 and posted on the Bulletin Board on the same date. Notices were mailed as requested.

At its Organizational Meeting on January 2, 2013, the Township Committee reappointed Louis Mont as a Class IV member, Howard Popper as Alternate Number 2, as Mayor Ken Short as a Class I member, Roger Read as a Class II member, and Committeeman James LiaBraaten as a Class III member.

Mr. Buzak swore in the reappointed members of the Planning Board in attendance.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

1. Chairman

Mr. DiSalvo made a motion to nominate Mr. William Leavens as Chairman for 2013, seconded by Mr. Popper.

Mr. Popper made a motion to close nominations for chairman, seconded by Mr. Short. A voice vote was taken and all were in favor and nominations for chairman were closed.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Mr. Leavens as Chairman for 2013.

Ayes: Charles DiSalvo, Kathleen McGroarty, Eric Trevena, Lou Mont

Howard Popper, Ken Short, Roger Read, Sam Akin

Nays: None Abstentions: William Leavens

Clerk Margolese turned the meeting over to Chairman Leavens.

2. First Vice Chairman

Mr. DiSalvo nominated Mr. Lou Mont as First Vice Chairman for 2013, seconded by Mr. Popper.

Mr. Popper made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Short. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and nominations were closed for First Vice Chairman.

Washington Township Planning Board JANUARY 7, 2013

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Mr. Mont as First Vice Chairman for 2013.

Ayes: William Leavens, Charles DiSalvo, Kathleen McGroarty, Eric Trevena,

Howard Popper, Ken Short, Roger Read, Sam Akin

Nays: None Abstentions: Lou Mont

3. Second Vice Chairman

Mr. DiSalvo nominated Mr. Eric Trevena as Second Vice Chairman for 2013, seconded by Mr. Popper.

Mr. Popper made a motion to close nominations for Second Vice Chairman, seconded by Mr. Short. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and the motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Mr. Trevena as Second Vice Chairman for 2013.

Ayes: William Leavens, Kathleen McGroarty, Lou Mont, Charles DiSalvo,

Howard Popper, Ken Short, Roger Read, Sam Akin

Nays: None Abstentions: Eric Trevena

4. Secretary

Mr. Popper nominated <u>Ms. Barbara Margolese</u> as <u>Secretary</u> of the Planning Board for 2013, seconded by Mr. Mont.

Mr. Short made a motion to close nominations for Secretary, seconded by Mr. Popper. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and the motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Ms. Margolese as Secretary for 2013.

Ayes: William Leavens, Kathleen McGroarty, Eric Trevena, Lou Mont,

Charles DiSalvo, Ken Short, Roger Read, Howard Popper, Sam Akin

Nays: None Abstentions: None

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. DiSalvo made a motion to go into executive session at 7:45 p.m. to discuss the appointment of the Board's professionals for 2013 seconded by Mr. Mont. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and the motion carried.

The Planning Board came out of closed session at 8:10 p.m.

RESOLUTIONS

13-01 Appointment of Professionals for 2013

Mr. Short made a motion to adopt <u>Resolution 13-01</u> with the amendment to remove Traffic Engineer Harold Maltz from the list of appointed professionals that are being appointed for the entire year of 2013, seconded by Mr. DiSalvo. A roll call vote was taken:

Washington Township Planning Board JANUARY 7, 2013

Ayes: William Leavens, Eric Trevena, Lou Mont, Charles DiSalvo, Howard Popper,

Ken Short, Roger Read, Sam Akin

Nays: None Abstentions: Kathleen McGroarty (only for the appointment of the

Planner)

13-02 Appointment of Board Clerk for 2013

13-03 Scheduled Meeting Dates for 2013 (Regular Meetings & the Reorganization Meeting for 2014)

13-04 Open Public Meetings Act / Agenda Fee

13-06 Adoption of Rules of Procedure for 2013

It was noted that amendments to be made to the Committee assignments (Resolution 13-05) are as follows: <u>Subdivision & Site Plan Committee</u> – replace Ms. McGroarty with Mr. Leavens and have Mr. DiSalvo as alternate, <u>Legislative Oversight Committee</u> – Chairman – Mayor Short, <u>Finance Committee</u> – Mayor Short is to be added, <u>Liaison to the Fire Companies – Mr. LiaBraaten</u>.

Mr. Short made a motion to adopt <u>Resolutions 13-02, 13-03, 13-04, 13-05</u> (as amended) and 13-06, seconded by Mr. Popper. A roll call vote was taken:

Ayes: William Leavens, Kathleen McGroarty, Eric Trevena, Lou Mont

Howard Popper, Ken Short, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Charles DiSalvo

Nays: None Abstentions: None

13-07 Appointment of Traffic Engineer for 90 days at 2012 professional rates

Mr. Short made a motion to adopt <u>Resolution 13-07</u> appointing Traffic Engineer Harold Maltz for 90 days at his 2012 professional rates, seconded by Mr. DiSalvo. A roll call vote was taken:

Ayes: William Leavens, Eric Trevena, Lou Mont, Charles DiSalvo, Kathleen McGroarty,

Howard Popper, Ken Short, Roger Read, Sam Akin

Nays: None Abstentions: None

Mr. Short made a motion to adjourn the reorganization meeting, seconded by Mr. Mont. A voice vote was taken and the reorganization meeting was adjourned at 8:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara J. Margolese, Clerk